The Future Of The College Football Playoff

The Toronto Raptors ended the Golden State Warriors' dynasty on Thursday night in Oakland, California, when they won Game 6 of the 2019 NBA Finals 114-110 to claim the franchise's first championship. So that got us thinking, who's could be the next first-time national champion in college football?

Florida was the last first-time national champion when the Gators claimed the 1996 crown under former coach and College Football Hall of Famer Steve Spurrier. Since then, it has been 23 years of blue bloods -- including two more titles for the Gators under Urban Meyer (2006, 2008) after Spurrier helped his alma mater hit its stride back in '96.

Unlike the NBA, determining college football national champions throughout the course of history is quite messy due to so many outlets awarding their titles in different ways back in the day. So for the sake of this story, we're counting "major" national championships (College Football Playoff, BCS, AP, UPI, Coaches, etc.).

The list of options is quite short. There's a Pac-12 power that has been on the cusp in Oregon, a Big Ten West force in Wisconsin, an upstart in UCF and several other dark horses on the periphery of this year's top 25 that have an outside shot of become a juggernaut within the next five or 10 years. 

There's no question in my mind that, if we had to pick the one that has the best chance, it's Mario Cristobal's Ducks.